Annual Member Meeting – 2021

The first annual member meeting of the Partnership took place on June 8th, 2021. Below are the slides and recording, along with the agenda and speaker information.



Presenter Slides: Partnership for Shared Book Collections | Chicago Collections Consortium | Library of Congress | VIVA | Archives for Black Lives

Partnership for Shared Book Collections Annual Member Meeting

Date/Time: June 8, 2021 (2.5 hrs)
10 a.m. PDT / 11 a.m. MDT / 12 p.m. CDT  / 1 p.m. EDT 

Description: Join us for an update on current and future work of the Partnership for Shared Book Collections. Topics include updates from working groups and a Diversity, Equity and Inclusion panel.

Agenda  
-Welcome and General Update from Partnership 
-Working group updates – Best Practices  / Communications and Advocacy / Infrastructure  / Research and Network Level 
-10 minute break (at approximately 11 a.m. PDT / 12 p.m. MDT / 1 p.m. CDT / 2 p.m. EDT)
-DEI Panel followed by Q&A:

Alexis Antracoli

Christopher Lowder

Jeanne Long

Michael Matos

  • Alexis Antracoli Deputy AUL for Special Collections Princeton
    Archives for Black Lives in Philadelphia (A4BLiP) Anti-Racist Description Resources
  • Christopher Lowder Online Learning Assistant at George Mason University, VIVA
    Applying EDI Values to Collection Assessment
  • Jeanne Long Executive  Director of Chicago Collections
    Collaborating, Preserving, Sharing
  • Michael Matos – Senior Collections Development Analyst, Library of Congress and
    Stephanie Smith – Senior Collections Development Analyst, Library of Congress 
    Assessing the General Collections of the Library of Congress

More information about our speakers:

Alexis Antracoli, Princeton, co-author of Anti-Racist Descriptive Resources
Alexis Antracoli is Assistant University Librarian for Special Collections, Technical Services. She leads the Archival Description and Processing team and supervises the Curatorial Services team. She also acquires manuscripts in American history to 1877.  Previously she worked at Drexel University Libraries and the University of Michigan Bentley Historical Library.  She has published on web archiving, inclusive description, and the archiving of born-digital audio visual content. Alexis is active in the Society of American Archivists, where she serves on the Education Committee and is Chair of the Acquisitions and Appraisal Section; she also teaches the Archives and Manuscripts course at the Rutgers University School of Communication and Information. She is especially interested in applying user experience research and user-center design to archival discovery systems, developing and applying inclusive description practices, and web archiving. She holds an M.S.I. in Archives and Records Management from the    University of  Michigan, a Ph.D. in American History from Brandeis University, and a B.A. in History from Boston College.

Christopher Lowder, Online Learning Assistant at George Mason University, VIVA
Chris Lowder  is currently pursuing a Master’s degree in Library and Information Science with a diversity and inclusion specialization from the University of Maryland. His research interests include information accessibility, online learning, and inclusive teaching in library instruction. 

Jeanne Long, Exec Director of Chicago Collections
Jeanne Long (jlong@chicagocollections.org) is the Executive Director of Chicago CollectionsConsortium (CCC). Prior to joining CCC in 2017, Long had an extensive 31-year career at the Art Institute and the School of the Art Institute (SAIC). While at SAIC, Long was appointed in 2010 Director of Community Partnerships where she oversaw strategic programming that highlighted the work of students and alumni.

Michael Matos, Library of Congress
Michael Matos is a Senior Collections Development Analyst at the U.S. Library of Congress. In this role, Mr. Matos handles a variety of projects in collection development, policy, and assessment related to the Library’s permanent collections.  During his tenure at LC, Mr. Matos has completed several internal assessment projects, including analyzing the Library’s web archiving effort, reviewing the collecting of U.S. dissertations, and analyzing U.S. serials not held by the Library for potential acquisition.  Before joining LC, he held various library positions at American University, Georgetown University, and Florida State University.  He earned a BA at the University of Maryland, MSLS at Florida State University, and MA in Art History at Florida State University.

Stephanie Smith, Library of Congress
Stephanie Smith is a Collections Development Analyst at the U.S. Library of Congress, where she works on collection development-related policies, documentation, and assessment. At LC, her previous assessment work includes assessment of targeted segments of the Library’s collections and analysis of external library and publishing industry activity, including a review of collection policies and practices related to open digital content. She previously worked in collection development positions at George Mason University. She has a BS from Indiana Wesleyan University and an MSI from the University of Michigan.